Feb 2014 15

Kent estuary winners debating 2014

Cumbria Young Farmers’ have had another busy week of competitions at the George
Hotel, Penrith.

In the County Final of the debating competition , teams from Crook, Kent Estuary, Longtown and Brampton YFC’s discussed whether cameras should be allowed in court, if it is too late to act on climate change, computer games causing a violent society and the issues around ash die back. Judges James Airey and Frank Chester commended all the contestants for a high standard of debate. Kent Estuary’s team of Dennis Sharp, Sam Wilkinson, Daniel Asplin, Emma Littlewood and Bob Lawrence won the competition with Crook second and Longtown third.

Meanwhile junior YFC members were being interviewed by judges David Galbraith and Nick Utting for the honour of being the Cumbria Member of the Year, aged 17 and under. In addition to the interview, Georgina Carruthers, Longtown YFC; Ben Cooper, Lowick; Edward Harrison, Longtown; Esther Lambert, Lowick; Amy Swinbank, Eden Valley and Paul Gardner, Longtown had to produce a CV and a power point presentation on their activities in YFC and their aspirations for the future.

The judges were very impressed with the presentations and had a very entertaining evening. There were only 4 points between first an fourth as the standard had been so high. Amy Swinbank was placed first, Georgina Carruthers second and Paul Gardner third.